Lessons from Mel Gibson

"I'm a bitch, I'm a mother, I'm her brother... 
It's a charmer as I volumize my hair, I am not aware." 
- Mel Gibson, What Women Want

HELL NO!

A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?   – Daily Prompt

It’s tempting, obviously. But I have a hard time keeping up with my own thoughts and expectations as it is. Peace of mind is a rare and valuable commodity available only to a select few.

I would probably go crazy since I’ve been told on more than one occasion that I am a bit of a people-pleaser. There’s just no way I’d be able to stay true to myself if I knew what every single person thought about the way I dress, talk, walk or even breathe.

Sure, I’d love to know who my real friends are and who appreciates me only when they need help with a project. And trust me, I would kill to know which colleague has a secret crush on me and what my boyfriend honestly thinks about what I’m wearing.

But really, if there’s one great thing life has to offer – it’s spontaneity and a bit of mystique now and again.

I wouldn’t exchange the thrill of not knowing if he’s going to kiss me or not for anything in the world. Or that delicious nervousness you feel right down to your toes when you’re talking on the phone and you’re wondering when your next date would be? Pure gold.

One thing I learned from the amazing (and absolutely charming) Mel Gibson is that uncertainty and a little craziness (okay, maybe a lot of Lethal Weapon-type shit) in your life is good.

Another lesson I learned – this time from What Women Want – is that it is absolutely impossible to understand a person by simply tapping into their thoughts. You know it and I know it. We’ve all done some pretty wonderful stuff which we initially thought were stupid, haven’t we?

The mind runs a commentary on everything and the heart listens, yes, 
 but it still does pretty much whatever the hell it wants to in the end!

THE TRUTH?
We don’t really care what logic tells us. Being reasonable doesn’t mean anything in the heat of the moment. And let’s face it, those times when we acted on instinct alone and threw the rulebook out the window? Those were the absolute best moments of our lives.

And so on that note – I end my rant along with a very inspiring quote from the dashing Nick Marshall :

"What's the difference between a wife and a job? 
After 10 years, a job still sucks."

 

See ya babes! 😉
DirtyAriWhite

2 thoughts on “Lessons from Mel Gibson

Leave your thoughts behind...

